Gastroenterology department has been set up with an aim to provide world-class Gastroenterology and hepatology care. It is the only department in state of Govt. of Maharashtra and running DM course in field of Medical Gastroenterology. We have treated more than 5,00,000 outdoor patients and have completed more than 60000 endoscopic procedure(diagnostic and therapeutic) including pediatric patient.
  • Incorporate the latest technological advances to provide quality care at a reasonable cost and train future Gastroenterologist and Technicians.
  • To upgrade the DM Gastroenterology course
  • To upgrade patient care services
  • To provide state of art treatment modalities for benefit of poor and needy patient and serve them with passion.
  • To produce skillful Gastroenterolgist and Hepatologist for future need of society
  • To make the Department as Academics Centre of Excellence
  • To emphasis the research in the field of Gastroenterology and Hepatology and publishing the research outcome in National/International Journals.
Awards & Achievements
  • Organised National Conference of Indian National Association for Liver at Nagpur in 2006
  • Organising annual ‘Dr. SushilaNayarHepatology Oration’ under Indian Medical Association, Nagpur
  • Best paper award by Academy of Medical Sciences, Nagpur.
  • Organised Hands on Endoscopic Ultrasound Workshop at GMC and SSH, Nagpur
  • Awarded Young Gastroenterologist Award by World Congress of Gastroenterology, Los Angeles,USA in 1994
Functions & Objective
  • OPD services
  • Indoor Service
  • Liver Recovery
  • Teaching of DM student
  • Attending various camp
  • Research
Organization Structure & Chart
Designation No. of Post
Professor and HOD 1
Associate Professor 1
Assistant Professor 1
Senior Resident 3
Residents for DM 3
Technician 2
Steno 1
Nursing staff 22
Faculty Gastroenterology
No. of Unit Name of Unit Incharge Associate Professor Assistant Professor (Lecturer) Medical Officer JR1/JR2/JR3
I Dr. Sudhir J. Gupta 1 4 Nil Nil
I Dr. Amol R. Samarth 1 4 Nil Nil
I Dr. Amit Agrawal 1 4 Nil Nil
I Dr. Nikhil Shirole 1 4 Nil Nil
I Dr. Nitin Gaikwad 1 4 Nil Nil